Champions Named at the Classic at Notre Dame


NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Mid-American Junior Golf Tour’s Classic at Notre Dame concluded earlier this week after two rounds of competitive golf. In the Boys Division, Patrick Moorhead (2020) of Lake Forest, Ill., took champion honors. Champion honors in the Girls Division were awarded to Amy Kucera (2017) of Riverside, Ill. In the College Division, Kiley Walsh of Mount Prospect, Ill., too top honors.

The Classic at Notre Dame was a 36 hole, stroke play event contested on The Warren GC at Notre Dame. The field featured 76 golfers ages 12-22 from California, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, and North Carolina. The Boys Division played the par 70 course from 6,702 yards, while the Girls and College Divisions played from 5,718 yards.

The MAJGT is designed for exceptionally talented junior golfers throughout the Midwest ages 12-18 and is nationally recognized by the Junior Golf Scoreboard and American Junior Golf Association with all of its events providing national exposure.

Moorhead carded an even-par 70 opening round which included four birdies and 10 pars. He finished the two days with a 3-over-par 143 tournament total. This was Moorhead’s first MAJGT victory.

Coming in runner-up were Matthew James (2019) of Orland Park, Ill., and Tony Palumbo (2018) who each carded a tournament total of 4-over-par 144. Marcus Smith (2020) of Rockford, Ill., and Patrick Ward (2018) of Chicago, Ill., finished T4 with a tournament total of 6-over-par 146.

In the Girls Division, Kucera carded a tournament total of 18-over-par 158. This was her first MAJGT victory.

Coming in second was Gianna Inguagiato (2020) of Menlo Park, Cal., who finished the event with a 21-over-par 161. Rounding out the top three was Katherine Asklund (2018) of Urbana, Ill., who finished the two-days with a 24-over-par 164 tournament total.

In the College Division, Walsh carded a 9-over-par 149 tournament total. Coming in runner-up was Madison Chesnutt of Mishawaka, Ind., with a two-day total of 13-over-par 153.

RESULTS                SCHEDULE



Comments are closed.